The FCC has activated its Disaster Information Reporting System (DIRS), to enable it to monitor damage to broadcast and telecommunications facilities during Hurricane Irene. 

 If you are located in the North Carolina counties of Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Jones, Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell and Washington, or the South Carolina counties of Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Georgetown, Horry and Marion, the FCC asks you to log into and to provide contact information and report the status of your facilities, including whether you are remaining on the air using emergency power.

If you lose internet access, several FCC staff members involved in disaster preparedness have published their cellphone numbers:

   Jeffery Goldthorp (202) 418-1096, (202) 253-1595 (cell),

   Julia Tu (202) 321-4399 (cell),

   John Healy (215) 847-8094 (cell),

   Michael Caiafa (202) 418-1311, (202) 277-5690 (cell),

   David Ahn (571) 232-8487 (cell), (202) 418-0853,

   Jane Kelly (202) 418-2832, (202) 503-0398 (cell),

If you are in the path of the hurricane but are not in any of the North or South Carolina counties listed above, check the FCC’s home page,, for further additions to the list of reporting areas.  The FCC’s first request for reporting is at:

Satellite earth station operators needing to operate emergency facilities may apply electronically at; or if they cannot access that system, they may apply by letter, e-mail, and even by telephone.  All requests should provide the technical parameters of the proposed operation and a contact point.  Requests not made through myibfs should be re-filed through that system as soon as possible.  More details are at: